Failure to launch

Now, this is disappointing. I can’t be the only person who drooled over the Revlon Chroma Chameleon range in the bottle, I’m sure. I could only afford one of them, thanks to shrewd accruing of Boots loyalty points; so I bought the colour that appealed most and seemed to have the least available dupes. This is Revlon Aquamarine (£6.49/Boots), which is supposed to be a violet/sky blue duochrome, but sadly, the violet is a phantom that is only visible in the bottle. Not only that, but the formula is incredibly sheer and took 4 coats for opacity, which left it quite messy on the nail, plus there’s a lot of visible brushstrokes too.

Flash.

Flash.

Natural light.

Natural light.

As you can see, there is almost no violet tone at all, and the sky blue colour is hardly unique. Don’t get me wrong, it’s pretty, but not really worth the price. I have a little personal obsession with duochromes, and it makes me so sad when the shift doesn’t show up properly. Before I tested this one, I was thinking about saving up to pick up the purple/green shade, Amethyst, but now I think I’ll give it a miss.

Leave a Reply

