Let me show you my drawers…

WARNING: This is a nail-free post.

So, as I mentioned last post, I had to cut all my nails down to almost nothing. A couple of them were badly damaged by poorly removed falsies, so I thought it was time to give them a rest. On the plus side, while my nails are short, it’s a lot easier to get stuff done around the house, because I’m not terrfied of breaking them!

I’ve been meaning to sort out my nail station for a while. Until now, I’ve been storing my polish tower in my bedroom, my new stock on my side table and have been doing all my manicures hunched over my coffee table. Definitely not optimal, so I decided to put it all in one place, in my living room.

Here’s what it looked like before:

nailstationbefore

I know, I have a LOT of clutter (yes, that is a fishtank wearing a top hat up there). Anyway, I moved everything out; the bookshelf is now on the other side of the room, and I moved a small desk and my polish tower into the space left behind. Here’s what it looks like now:

nailstationafter

Neat, huh? It’s not totally finished, but it’s great having a little spot to do my nails properly. I’m picking up a kneeling stool from a friend this week, and I would like to get a couple of shelves and maybe some artwork for the back wall. I’ll have plenty of time to make it perfect while I wait for my nails to grow back, and I’m also giving up buying any manicure supplies for Lent. I need to go a bit easy on my wallet for a while anyway, and my stockpile of polishes to be swatched is already enormous!

Hope you’ve enjoyed this little glimpse into my sanctum. Here’s a bonus pic with one of my cats checking out the new perching spot. Have a great week!

DSCF1184

2 thoughts on “Let me show you my drawers…

  1. I think I need to build a polish tower… I don’t have as much as you, but a tower of drawer units like that would fit in my room and I could put STUFF in them, as well as polish 🙂 My two little clip boxes are now full and don’t close anymore, so it’s time to move them. Where are yours from? The bottom 4 especially look like the perfect height for bottles of polish.

  2. They’re from John Lewis, £15 a piece. The shorter ones are just a bit too short for some taller bottles like Revlon, Sally Hansen and OPI, which is why I got a set of the deeper drawers too.

    Unfortunately, it’s already on the brink of overflowing and I’ve only had it since July! I won’t be able to afford to upgrade until the summer though, but I can store a bit more if I put some shelves up on the wall. I love it though. I keep gazing over and wishing my nails weren’t so short!

Leave a Reply

